Silverthorne, Colorado: Established 1967

Town Hall

The Town of Silverthorne encourages you to participate in your local government.  To stay informed of the activities of each of your governing boards, click the various links to the left to find meeting anouncments, agendas, minutes, and information on other opportunies for citizen participation in your local government. 

Silverthorne was incorporated as a Town in 1967, and in 1994 the Town adoped a Home Rule Charter.  Municipal home rule is based upon the theory that the citizens of a municipality should have the right to decide how their local problems should be solved.  The primary goal of Silverthorne’s Home Rule Charter is to allow Town government to operate more efficiently, to be successful in solving problems and to always act in the best interests of the Town and its residents.

Silverthorne has a Council-Manager form of government: an elected Council enacts legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies and appoints the Town Manager, who executes the laws and administers Town government. The Town Council, which includes the Mayor and six Councilmembers, is elected at-large for four-year overlapping terms.  The Council may take action through ordinances, resolutions and motions.

The Town Council also appoints Planning Commission members to serve three-year overlapping terms on the commission.  The Commission's primary responsibilty is to review new development in accordance with the goals of the Town's Comprehensive Plan and the regulations contained in the Town Code.

Additionally the Town has several other committees that utilize local volunteers.  These committees include the Silverthorne Parks, Open Space, Recreation and Trails (SPORT) Committee, the Silverthorne Economic Development Advisory Committee (EDAC) and the Citizens Advisory Committee for Public Safety.