Police Department

Print
Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

601 Center Circle

2016PDstaffPolice Department Staff:

John Minor
Chief of Police
970-262-7332
jminor@silverthorne.org

Misty Higby
Sergeant
970-262-7330
mhigby@silverthorne.org

Tim Osborn
Sergeant
970-262-7335
timo@silverthorne.org

David Siderfin
Sergeant
970-262-7339
dsiderfin@silverthorne.org

Bryan Siebel
Sergeant
970-262-7337
bsiebel@silverthorne.org

Patricia Julin
Administrative Assistant
970-262-7323
pjulin@silverthorne.org

Lynn Schlough
Administrative Assistant
970-262-7329
lschlough@silverthorne.org

Theresa Barger
Detective
970-262-7398
tbarger@silverthorne.org

Anne Baldwin
Officer
970-262-7338
abaldwin@silverthorne.org

Rachel Dunaway
Officer
970-262-7325
rdunaway@silverthorne.org

Michael Henley
Officer
970-262-7334
mhenley@silverthore.org

Allen Jambor
Officer
970-262-7327
ajambor@silverthorne.org

Aden Jones
Officer
970-262-7333
ajones@silverthorne.org

Joel Ponedel
Officer
970-262-7326
jponedel@silverthorne.org

Skylar Steele
Officer
970-262-7336
ssteele@silverthorne.org

Matthew Tarnoff
Officer
970-262-7324
mtarnoff@silverthorne.org

Richard Watson
Officer
970-262-7328
rwatson@silverthorne.org

Your police.  Our community. 

The Silverthorne Police Department is an exciting and progressive place to work.  There are currently seventeen employees at the police department.

The department is proud to be the recipient of several policing awards and certifications for innovation and excellence.  In striving for a professional and well-informed police force, Silverthorne we insure that officers are provided with a variety of training opportunities.  Employees within the department are committed to the long-term goal of living and being part of the mountain community of Silverthorne and all of the benefits that come with it. 

The Silverthorne Police Department is an active participant in several countywide teams to include: Tactical Team, and DUI enforcement program.  The department also has an internal fitness program and a bilingual incentive pay program for those employees who have achieved a level of proficiency in Spanish. 

Mission Statement

The mission of the Silverthorne Police Department is to enhance the quality of life within the town by working closely with citizens in the development and delivery of professional police services.

Vision

The Silverthorne Police Department will:

  • Strive to maintain its close knit "family" connections with the department members and the Town staff, and will make a concerted effort to continue its measured growth in size and diversity based upon the needs and expectations of the community.
  • Have a strong national reputation for innovation and quality in Community Policing Initiatives.
  • Become a foundation agency within Summit County through recruitment and retention of quality personnel, planned and progressive training opportunities, deployment of effective technology, and concerted efforts to collaborate with neighboring law enforcement agencies.

Values

The Silverthorne Police Department earnestly believes that these stated values act as the foundation qualities, which insure our successful navigation through the difficult terrain associated with delivering quality police services. These are the behaviors we value and are committed to as we work together:

  • Integrity - An outward expression of our actions and beliefs, consistent with our core values, that instills trust.
  • Teamwork - Working together toward organizational success without concern for who receives the credit.
  • Compassion - Being sensitive, caring, and considerate.
  • Diversity - Each of us contributes in a special way, to make our special talents and perspectives part of the corporate effort.
  • Respect - Objective, unbiased consideration and acknowledgement of the rights, values, beliefs and property of all people and communities.
  • Innovation - We work together for creative solutions, asking the question "Is there a better way to do this?"
  • Professionalism - A conscientious awareness of our role, image, skill and knowledge in our commitment to quality, community-oriented service.

Department Goals

  1. Continue refinement of existing Community Policing Programs.
  2. Reinforce the Neighborhood Watch Program.
  3. Involve the detective in Community Policing by having them develop more pro-active crime analysis and preventative programs within the department.
  4. Work in collaboration with the other Summit County law enforcement agencies to develop a Citizen's Police Academy.
  5. Work in collaboration with the other Summit County law enforcement agencies, the Family Intercultural Resource Center, and the citizenry to develop a Latino Advisory Board for area law enforcement.
  6. The Silverthorne Police department will work closely with the Community Development offices to increase the effectiveness of our efforts pertaining to Code Enforcement.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Statute 16-2.5-301

The Silverthorne Police Department will request that the Colorado Bureau of Investigation investigate any and all incidents involving the discharge of a firearm by an Officer that results in injury or death per Statute 16-2.5-301. 

§ 16-2.5-301. Peace officer-involved shooting investigations--protocol

(1) Each police department, sheriff's office, and district attorney within the state shall develop protocols for participating in a multi-agency team, which shall include at least one other police department or sheriff's office, or the Colorado bureau of investigation, in conducting any investigation, evaluation, and review of an incident involving the discharge of a firearm by a peace officer that resulted in injury or death. The law enforcement agencies participating need not be from the same judicial district.

(2) Each law enforcement agency shall post the protocol on its web site or, if it does not have a web site, make it publicly available upon request. The protocols required by this section shall be completed and implemented by December 31, 2015.