Attention voters!  We want to hear from you!  You have received a community survey in the mail seeking your input.  We've had over 200 responses thus far.  If you haven't filled out your survey yet, the deadline for you to provide your feedback is approaching.  Drop your survey in the mail by Aug 13th or drop it at Town Hall by Aug 17th.  

Frequently Asked Questions

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Home Rule & Elected Officials

Q: When did the Town become a Home Rule municipality? 
Silverthorne voters adopted the Home Rule Charter on April 5, 1994.

Q: What is Home Rule government? 
Municipal home rule is based upon the theory that the citizens of a municipality should have the right to decide how their local problems should be solved. The powers of home rule are limited by their charters, federal laws, the state constitution, court decisions and legislation enacted by the General Assembly. The primary goal of Silverthorne’s home rule charter is to allow Town government to operate more efficiently, to be successful in solving problems and to always act in the best interests of the Town and its residents. Silverthorne has a council-manager form of government: an elective Council enacts legislation, adopts budgets, determines policies and appoints the Town Manager, who executes the laws and administers Town government.

Q: Who are the elected officials of the Town? 
The Mayor and six Council members, which comprise the Town Council and the Board of Adjustments.

Q: Who are the appointed officials of the Town? 
The Planning Commissioners, Economic Developement Advisory Committee, the Citizens’ Advisory Committee, and the SPORT Committee.

Q: Who hires Management? 
The Town Manager hires all Department Directors.

Q: What are the qualifications for Town officials? 
Both elected and appointed officials must be registered voters in the Town and must have resided in Town for at least one year prior to election or appointment.

Q: What are the terms for Council and Mayor? 
These Town officials are elected to four-year, overlapping terms. As of January 1, 1996, elected officials may only serve two terms by state law.

Q: What are the terms for the Planning Commission? 
Council appoints Planning Commissioners for three-year, overlapping terms.

Q: When is the next municipal election?
The Town of Silverthorne’s regular municipal elections are held on the  first Tuesday in April of each even numbered year. Silverthorne’s Town Hall serves as the polling place for the elections.