Highway closures vary in length depending on what caused the closure and varying weather conditions. For the latest information on highway openings, visit Cotrip.org . Do not stop your vehicle in a lane of traffic to ask officers when the highway may open.
During a closure on I-70 please DO NOT queue your vehicles along Highway 9 or Highway 6 hoping to be one of the first cars on I-70 when it opens. This causes further congestion problems for emergency vehicles trying to clear the problem and reopen the road, as well as for travelers trying to commute through the area. Parking along Highway 6 or 9 is a criminal offense covered under Colorado Revised Statutes; Parking Prohibited 42-4-1202, Obstructing a Roadway 18-9-107 and Obedience to a Police Officer 42-4-107.
Thank you for your patience as CDOT and emergency personnel work diligently to get the highway opened as soon as safety allows.
Be aware, extended closures can result in 5+ hour delays to Denver once the freeway reopens. You may need to reschedule your plans or flight to avoid a crisis.
- KYSL Radio, 93.9 FM
- Road reports: (local) 970-668-1090
- Road reports: (state wide) 1-877-315-7623
- Colorado Department of Transportation
What to do during a closure
- Do not park your vehicle on the roadway, find a nearby parking lot instead.
- Travelers west of this exit are allowed on to I-70 first upon re-opening. It does not help to wait by the freeway ramp.
- Keep windows cracked if your vehicle is running without moving to avoid carbon monoxide poisoning.
- If you see an accident/road hazard/road rage incident on I-70, please call 970-824-6501 or *CSP.
- Click here for a list of nearby restaurants for your convenience
- Click here for a list of nearby hotels
Emergency Shelter Information
When the Highway opens
If traction laws are in place, please click here for the requirements.
- Motorists driving with inadequate equipment when a Passenger Vehicle Traction Law or Chain Law is in effect could be fined more than $130.
- If a motorist blocks the roadway because he/she has inadequate equipment when a Passenger Vehicle Traction Law or Chain Law is in effect, he/she could be fined more than $650.